Customer Testimonials

Summary

4.9/5 based on 35 ratings and reviews for Service.

Reviews


  • "After several attempts with other companies to repair my roof after a severe wind storm hit our area (Waldorf, MD) and being unsuccessful in getting someone out, contacted Southernwood (wish I had contacted them first). It was a week before they could send someone out due to high volume which I understood). They came out as scheduled and detail explanation was given as to the issue and how it should be repaired. I signed the contract sent to me 2 business days later. Price was reasonable as I was not going through my insurance. Initially, I was told it would be April (approx. 3 wks away at the time) before I could be scheduled. After signing the contract, a worker came out in about 3 -4 days. Satisfied with the work and no leaks no far (large amount of shingles had to be replaced). My only issue is the office could have kept better contact with me as to when someone was coming out, I just so happened to be home that day. I would still recommend them! I also have front door frame work to be done and will follow up with them to possibly cap the frame and maybe install new screen door as the builder did not include one- the info on their truck said they do doors also. EDIT: Follow up Aug 30, '19...late post, work was done about 2 months after the roof repair...I did have them install my screen doors (Big Box store purchase) and fix my front door framing that was starting to splinter due to water damage. Replaced the bad wood & Recapped, installed the screen doors (front and basement) and repainted to match the existing color. Great work!"
    Customer: DARRYL
    Employee: BK Grieninger
    Date: 09/10/2019

  • "I love the new roof. Great value compared against 5 other local companies. Ralph was very responsive getting the quote, selecting shingles and getting the work done. I would definitely recommend Southernwood"
    Customer: Karl
    Employee: Ralph Hancock
    Date: 09/10/2019

  • "My project was vinyl siding for part of my house and vinyl soffit for the ceiling of my carport. Got 3 estimates; Southernwood was the best price. Work was timely and top notch, communication was excellent and the people were great. I couldn't be happier!"
    Customer: John
    Employee: BK Grieninger
    Date: 12/07/2018

  • "They went above and beyond on some items and not so much on others."
    Customer: Helen
    Date: 09/17/2018

  • "We were having issue with a leaky roof and called the company who sent out a person who specializes in all types of roofing issues. After speaking with this individual we know that they were going to do an excellent job, and they did! The price was fair! The work was done on schedule! They do not sub-contract out their work! I highly recommend Southernwood Roofing & Siding!!!!"
    Customer: Steve
    Employee: BK Grieninger
    Date: 02/03/2018

  • "I've used Southern Roofing & Siding twice and have had great experiences each time. The rates are reasonable and the specialist were prompt, professional and great to work with. Give them a call for your next roofing or siding job, you will not be disappointed!"
    Customer: Leticia
    Employee: BK Grieninger
    Date: 02/01/2018

  • "Great Company! Good communication, honest fair price up front with no surprises later. Solid work from a very professional crew. Project manager did an awesome job of keeping things going and keeping us updated. I highly recommend them!"
    Customer: John
    Date: 02/01/2018

  • "Southernwood did a wonderful job fixing the roof of one of our buildings. They were prompt, professional, and a true delight to work with. Highly recommend Southernwood."
    Customer: Archbishop Neale School
    Date: 02/01/2018

  • "My wife I thought they were very professional and timely. We would use them again."
    Customer: Frank
    Date: 02/01/2018

  • "The staff is friendly and responsive; and we received a professional job on our house."
    Customer: Garth
    Employee: BK Grieninger
    Date: 02/01/2018

Testimonial

I commend Mike Bell on his excellent customer service abilities. Excellent mannerisms, good eye contact, very polite and respectful. Good, honest attitude. He is an excellent representative of your company! He showed that he is a good listener and sought to address all of my concerns within his ability.

Customer: Shiela W.
Date: January 17, 2019

“Great Company! Good communication, honest fair price up front with no surprises later. Solid work from a very professional crew. Project manager did an awesome job of keeping things going and keeping us updated. I highly recommend them!”

Customer: John
Date: March 15, 2018

On time, all work no play. Expertly installed. Beautifully cleaned work area, no pressure estimate or sale. Michael Cusic (salesman) knew the needed upgrade I wanted before I asked for them.

Customer: Michael L., Waldorf, MD
Date: October 12, 2016

Mike Cusic gave us an estimate in 3/2014, we were not financially ready, but now that we were, he quickly came back out, reassessed was the only company to keep original estimate and rebates, had the work ordered and completed in a week and team did a phenomenal job.

Customer: Sarah S., Bel Alton, MD
Date:

Removed fascia board and replaced behind front left gutter. Put gutter back in place. Removed and installed new 1×8 board on front left corner of house; primed, caulked and painted. Removed and replaced about 8 feet of OSB scoffing and painted. Went well. Even came back next day to put another coat of paint on soffit.

Customer: Sheila K., Angie’s List Member, Waldorf, MD
Date:

They (Corey) showed up on schedule and was very professional. After a brief conversation he surveyed my roof and provided an estimate. He then followed up in 2 days to complete the repair. I found the entire experience acceptable. If needed I would certainly use them again and would not hesitate to recommend them.

Customer: John H., Angie’s List Member, La Plata, MD.
Date:

Great!!!! They were out the same day I called and the price was very reasonable. Done in one day.

Customer: Frank M., Angie’s List Member
Date:

We had Southernwood replace our gutters. Their estimate was great, they offered a military discount, and the work was great! I even had to ask Michael to come back and fix a couple things and they did it, no questions. Great all around. There was a slight bit of confusion on what day they would come out to do the work, their representative came out to clear everything up. We appreciated the follow up.

Customer: Sandy S., Angie’s List Member
Date:

Roofing replaced in 8 hours, 7-man team. Siding replaced in 4.5 days, house was wrapped first with 1/4 inch board insulation, then covered with triple 4 straight tap siding. A one-man amazing team. Gutters and downspouts were installed in 1.5 hours, another 3-man team. Best of all Southernwood, was the lowest bid of the 3.

Customer: United Church of Christ of Annapolis
Date:

I love my new roof, the neighbors can’t stop telling me how wonderful it looks. I know it’s not only great looking but a great roof. You have a good man there with Michael Cusic, I had all these concerns and items to talk about and he already knew what they were before I told him. Everyone from the ABC supply to the installers were true professionals. I now have a quality roof with outstanding warranty installed by experts that will outlast me. I am of course 100% delighted with the GAF product and installation. I would not hesitate to recommend Southernwood to others and to call again for your services.

Customer: Michael L.
Date:

Due to wind damage, the siding on my structure of the roof were damaged on two locations. There was no way I could repair the house myself and upon singing up with Angie’s list, I located Southernwood Roofing & Siding, located in La Plata Maryland. Corey responded immediately and was able to professionally accomplish the repairs the same day. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Southernwood Roofing & Siding for the promptness and courtesy of working with me over the phone since I could not leave my office that day. Thanks again Corey Bowling and Southernwood Roofing & Siding!

Customer: Alan L., Angie’s List Member
Date:

The person that came out to my home was very professional. He arrived promptly at the definite time. He identified himself and presented a business card and proceeded to tell me exactly what he was about to do. He was knowledgeable and able to answer any questions. Upon completion of the project he presented me with pictures of the before and after of the repair.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

They replaced my roof, installed a new attic fan and replaced my gutter and down spout in the front. First of all, I would like to commended Mike Cusic for being very prompt in returning my calls and accommodating when scheduling the work to be performed. Overall, he was very professional and i appreciate that. The day the work began, I met Corey who oversaw the job performance. After he introduced himself, he was also very professional. He went over my contract and what was going to be done and answered any questions I had. The job started approx. 8 until 3 and they did a wonderful job. I am very pleased with the overall work they performed and also the clean up.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

They were excellent. They were prompt and finished on time. He was very professional.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

It went great. They were a great company. They were very professional. The pricing was great, and they have great followup.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

They were very good. They came right out and they informed me of the problem and took care of it. I had no problem and they’re very professional.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

We had replacement windows installed throughout our home. They look very nice and am happy with the work that they did.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

Mike and his staff were very good at fixing the roof and porch. They were friendly and very professional.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

They were on time, they were professional, a good job was done, I was really impressed, worth the price.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

Mike Cusic was very responsive. He answered all my questions regarding the various quotes. I ended up choosing the Architectural Shingles. He scheduled a day to install the roof. The weather was calling for rain. Mike called me before 8:00 am that morning to inform me they were going to delay the job by a day due to weather. The next day, the roof was installed as planned. It looks great! He called the next business day to follow up to ensure I was happy with the roof.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

Southernwood did a terrific job. Their crew was punctual, professional, and absolutely terrific. They left the job site cleaner than they found it. Their shingle lines were perfect. The new roof looks great. Would highly recommend.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

I want to thank [Mike] and Edgar again for coming down to Lexington Park to repair our roof. I was extremely impressed with Southernwood’s generosity, skill, and willingness to do “whatever it takes” to make a repair. It is rare in the common marketplace to see a company truly stand behind their word and be so willing to work with their customers. I look forward to telling my friends and neighbors about my Southernwood experience. Thanks again!

Customer: Scott F.
Date:

Andy and Southerwood Building Services built our home, so almost three years later when a piece of siding started to come loose after a bad storm rolled through, we didn’t hesitate to call on Southernwood Roofing & Siding. They came and took care of the repair with the same great service and efficiency we experienced during the original build. We couldn’t be happier with the Southernwood team.

Customer: John D.
Date:

I got three estimates. At first I did not feel this vendor was as professional as the other two, and even though he was the lowest cost, I was not going to use him. I had him come out again with a modification to the original estimate. I became convinced my first impression was wrong, especially after talking with him about some leak problems with the top of my chimney that had been near impossible to find and fix over a number of years.

This vendor’s solution showed an impressive knowledge of what’s presently available in the building industry. Neither of the other two bidders gave me the same impression. Indeed, they seemed more concerned with just putting shingles on and doing the gutter guards. But the chimney leak was very important to me; it had caused some ceiling damage in my home.

The man who did the estimate came one day to seal the chimney top. He used a new material that dried clear and sealed every area where it was applied. In the nearly 6 months since, I have experienced a number of storms that would have caused leaks in the past; I have had no leaks. 🙂

The shingle people came on a second day. They removed old shingles on the house, installed new shingles and ice guards, and installed gutter guards. They installed new shingles over old on the 2 sheds. They did all this and cleaned up all nails and shingle pieces in one long day. I was impressed with their work.

I am very satisfied with the work that was done and the professional way everything was carried out. I definitely recommend this vendor.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

I scheduled five estimates for my roof and siding job. One company never showed, and four provided estimates. Of the four, one was much higher than the others. Southernwood was not the cheapest but came in very close to the other two reasonable estimates, and I was highly impressed by the professionalism and knowledge evident in their field rep, Mike. My dad is a retired contractor and we had talked over the job beforehand so that I knew what questions to ask and what signs to look for, and Mike really knew his stuff. I also liked that Southernwood is a local company but not one of those “2 guys and a truck” outfits that can be a little shady.

Mike talked me through the various options and the comparative advantages and prices of different materials, respecting that expense was an issue and never giving me a hard sell for upgrades. He was upfront about all costs, including additional costs if the roof turned out to have any bad wood underneath, which it did but I was prepared. The crews who did the work were all Spanish-speaking, but Mike was there at the start of each day and at key points to give them direction and inspect the job as things progressed. They worked hard and fast and it was clear that they knew exactly what they were doing. At one point they ran short of roof shingles with about 6 square feet of roof left to go, but they quickly sent for an additional bundle and stayed past sundown to finish despite the delay.

Both jobs turned out great. All the work is neatly and precisely done. They did lots of little extras like adding trim around the light fixtures, hose bib, and electric outlets. Around vents and such, they used caulking that matched the siding color exactly, and they tucked the exterior phone and cable wires under the trim as they went so that part of the wall looks nice and neat now (it was a mess before). They had to take down the gutters during the job, and I noticed that they even scooped out the leaves before putting them back up. Now that’s extra service! The crews cleaned up completely and didn’t leave a single bit of debris or trash behind. I saw them go over the yard and driveway thoroughly with a magnetic roller to collect loose nails and screws, which my tires appreciate.

The house looks terrific- neighbors keep stopping me to exclaim over how good it looks. I am very happy with the work and would recommend Southernwood without reservation.

Customer: Angie’s List Member
Date:

Gallery
Take a Look at Our Recent Projects.
Affiliates & Partners
The Superior Quality Service You Deserve